My baby. My only baby.

Oh my gosh, wish me luck at work today.  This evening is the girl’s high school graduation and I cried for 3 hours last night before, during, and after I gave her some gifts.  I got her a set of luggage and the book “Oh, The Places You’ll Go,” which we sat on the floor in my bedroom and read aloud together.

I told her to not get any funny ideas.  The theme I was presenting was that I will support and encourage her going off to college, possibly going away in the Peace Corps, being a Spanish major and living abroad, anything she could possibly get the chance to do….. but don’t ever forget your mommy!  Don’t think for a second that I want you to go.  Birds don’t really want to push the chickies out of the nest.  It’s just what has to happen.

Categories: Loved ones., Sigh. | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “My baby. My only baby.

  1. T

    good luck!

  2. My parents have been very supportive of our move to Washington, but now that it’s finally happening my mom has been a little sad about it. Good luck at work.

  3. ocheree

    Wowza, the little bird will be flying away soon. I bet she does FABulous things since she’s so FABulous…what with having a FANTABULOUS Mom and all!! Yes, I’m a dork :-)

  4. Brenda

    Her gift is coming. I am having a hard time picking just the right one – I have not yet felt the inspiration

  5. I was just thinking of you and wondering how you were holding up. Love you guys!

  6. El Mexican

    You are the best mom she could ever had. One day, she’d realize that. Be strong Gringa.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.