Snap

Sometimes I interrupt people.  I don’t do it on purpose… I just get excited and forget someone else has the floor.  There’s this lady at work who is 45 but looks 75.  She’s had a hard life.  She’s legally deaf (wears a hearing aid), has heart problems, skin problems, rageaholism (she was court-ordered to complete anger management classes), and… she looks like Chuckie.

You only wish I was exaggerating.

In contrast, she has the sweetest, friendliest sing-songy voice ever.  I think it’s beautiful.

Anyway today at lunch I didn’t even notice she was trying to tell us that her sister refused to be her emergency contact and now she had nobody left.  It was kind of a big deal, but I was being self-absorbed and shouting and laughing about some funny story I’ve already forgotten.

It’s just that in the middle of my getting everyone’s attention with my loudness, Doreen stood up (all 4 feet 7 of her), pointed her finger at me and scowled.

“Okay, you’re done talking now!”

I asked quietly, “I am…?” and she continued in her little girl voice, “Hey, now, I’ve started my story THREE TIMES because of you and I’m NOT going to start it again!”

I think it kind of turned me on.

Categories: HA! | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Snap

  1. rotflol … all 4″7 of her turned you on!!!!

    Girl, you kill me.

    Did you tidy off the other side of the bed?

  2. I did, but it’s messy again.

  3. Glad to see you posting. When you are posting I know you aren’t doing too bad. And selfishly, when you post you usually make me laugh at the goofiness or go Awww at the sweetness.

    This was a laugher. The Golden Girls tho was both.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.