N.M.B.C.

I was sitting on Carol’s couch – where we always talked last winter – with her pomeranian nudging me to throw the ball and play.  She was wanting to find someone to date again, and was telling me about the men she’d been meeting online but seemed dejected, sighed and told me, “I just want a nice man by Christmas.”

I couldn’t help but think that phrase – “Nice Man By Christmas” –  sounded like the title of a made-for-tv Lifetime movie and I told her and we laughed.  But I really did think – if that is what you want, then that is what you shall have!  I mean, why not concentrate on this “nice man by Christmas” dream in your heart?  Why should you settle for anything less?  It sounds so simple, such an easy dream, but it’s not.  Nice men are hard to come by.

Carol’d had a thing for bad boys – “mean” boys, really – so nice man WAS a stretch.

And by Christmas.  In March that may sound easily attainable, but to Carol turning 50 that summer and who had never been married – always “married to her job” – hadn’t even been in a relationship in the past 6 years… well, she told me sadly more than once she feared she would always be alone.  This is a woman so full of life and love and it just didn’t seem fair that she never got what she gave in return.  Ever.

So we prayed.  And we stayed positive.  I got her a notepad with the word FAITH on the cover and wrote NMBC on the first page.  I thought we should always keep that description at the forefront and never forget that that was her goal.  Every man she met was held to that standard:  “But is he your NMBC?”  They never were.

Until, there he was.

All the times we worried God wasn’t listening… He was.  And now this Christmas – *the* Christmas she wanted – as I watched them cozily and happily celebrate the season together I felt the Psalms reminder:  “Delight yourself in the Lord and He will give you the desires of your heart.”

Back in March when she said it, I can just see God saying, “I got your nice man right here.  ‘Mann,’ actually.”  (Mann is his last name).  God, you crack me up!

I’ve known her for 12 years and never seen Carol happier.  Plus I have someone now who, every time I see them, I greet with a deadpan:  “Mis-ter Mann..”  It’s great all around.

Categories: Love it. | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “N.M.B.C.

  1. I love your life!

  2. Awww thanks Cat!

  3. Meredith

    This happened to a friend of mine, but more extreme. Leading up to my wedding, I asked her to bridesmaid and she politely declined. She talked about too many weddings being a bridesmaid and feeling a tad hopeless for it all. She instead did a beautiful reading with another friend of mine.

    Monday after our wedding, she started a new job, and before my first anniversary she met a man at said job, dated, got engaged, got married and pregnant! It was a glorious year for both of us and such a great story!

    Many blessings to Lena -and you too Krissy! Life happens in very mysterious gifts!

    Meredith

  4. Wow, that is so cool! Thanks for sharing, Meredith! And do you have a blog yet???

  5. *laughs* I’m trying – but not succeeding at blogging, really. No readers. :) I did just post about my brother, though :)

  6. Well I don’t have many readers left, either, but that doesn’t matter! I still keep at it :) Going to check yours out…

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.